Once Upon a Time in Hollywood: a trip to the New Beverly

I finally got to realise a long standing dream – to go to one of THE ultimate repertory cinemas  – The New Beverly!

What is this place I hear you cry? It’s a Los Angeles and cinema institution and a Mecca for serious film lovers. Since 2007, it has been owned by director and cinephile Quentin Tarantino and you can tell. Its a one screen space with such a small but well-stocked lobby you have to join the snaking queue on the street outside, under the retro marquee, before a show starts. The film programmes are carefully curated, and they produce extremely desirable/collectable monthly fliers advertising their months screenings and there’s a strict audience code (more on this later). Going to ‘The Beverly’ isn’t just watching a film, its an experience. Check out the website here

I was thrilled that two of my students also chose to come and experience a late night horror double bill with me, not just because I’m a massive wimp, but because I wanted them to encounter repertory cinema at its best.

We got in, stocked up on pop corn, soda and vegan hot dogs (hell yeah!) and grabbed a seat. The buzz in the modest auditorium was great. Lots of folks were clearly regulars and knew the staff and each other.  every single seat was taken.  It was glorious.

Shortly before the lights dimmed and we were treated to a Tom and Jerry cartoon, retro adverts that made the audience sigh with nostalgia and two horror classics, a gentleman took to the front of the auditorium and instructed us that all phones were not only to be silences but switched OFF. If they flashed and disrupted others screening experience you would be asked to leave. I panicked and removed my smart watch, just in case!

When the show finished, I emerged onto the muggy LA streets in the early hours, dazed, shattered and very happy. I loved it.

Leave a comment