The Singing Detective: My essay for Powerhouse Films on Lady on a Train

Early in 2023 I was approached to write the accompanying booklet essay for a new DVD/Blu-ray box set of Film Noirs produced by Universal studios for the Powerhouse Films Indicator series ( https://www.powerhousefilms.co.uk/ )

The series consists of a number of classics and more overlooked films curated into collections and available in beautifully presented box sets with excellent additional materials, such as relevant imagery, reproductions of promotional materials and essays by film experts, such as myself

I love Durbin’s earlier noir offering Christmas Holiday (1944, starring Gene Kelly as villain!) Lady on a Train (1945) was a film I had only seen once, so I enjoyed the opportunity to catch up with it before constructing my essay.

I’ve previously published work on Durbin’s fan club and its club magazine and on the marketing of female investigator narratives as a sub cycle within Film Noir, so really enjoyed producing this piece of work.  Even better, the tone needed to be a little more informal than a standard piece of academic writing,  much more akin to writing a blog, so it was really good fun!

I’m now very much looking forward to the release of the box set and seeing my essay in situ and alongside the other films and essays in the box set.

One thought on “The Singing Detective: My essay for Powerhouse Films on Lady on a Train

  1. Pingback: Universal Noir #2 : Limited Edition book and blu-ray set. | Here's looking at you.

Leave a comment